Another Post about Diversity Statements

At DINAMICS we understand the value of diversity statements for applications for academic positions. (That’s why we’re re-blogging so much about the recent letter by and AMS VP against them.)

Here’s a post from the AMS Graduate Student blog in support of diversity statements

As we wrote previously, there’s a letter you can sign in support of diversity statements. Since then, two other letters circulated, one calling for discussion (a familiar anti-inclusion dog whistle) and another outright against diversity statements. The amazing folks at QSIDE conducted a demographic analysis of the signatories of the three letters. The results probably won’t surprise you.

AMS Diverse Leadership

Ruth Charney, President-Elect of the AMS

As a follow-up to our recent post about diverse leadership at SIAM, we are also excited that the AMS elections have resulted in diversity in the leadership, including:

  • President, Ruth Charney, Brandeis University
  • Members at Large of the Council:
    • Stephan Ramon Garcia, Pomona College
    • Rosa C. Orellana, Dartmouth College
    • Bianca Viray, University of Washington
  • Nominating Committee
    • Kristin E. Lauter, Microsoft Research
    • Tatiana Toro, University of Washington
    • Talithia Williams, Harvey Mudd College
  • Editorial Boards Committee, Tamar Ziegler, Hebrew University

Another New Award Honoring Maryam Mirzakhani

Maryam Mirzakhani

A new award for women mathematicians in honor of Maryam Mirzakhani has been established recently: The Breakthrough Foundation’s Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prize “for early-career women in math.”

Among her many honors, Maryam Mirzakhani was the first woman awarded the Fields Medal. She passed away in July 2017 at the age of 40. See our post here about another award established in her honor.

New Diverse Leadership at SIAM

Susanne Brenner

Here at DINAMICS we love it when we see diversity in the leadership of mathematical societies. So, we were very excited when we heard about the new SIAM leaders:

  • President-Elect: Susanne C. Brenner (Louisiana State University)
  • Vice President-at-Large: Carol S. Woodward (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
  • Secretary: Susan E. Minkoff (University of Texas at Dallas)
  • Board of Trustees:
    • Margot Gerritsen (Stanford University)
    • Randall J. LeVeque (University of Washington)
    • Bonita Saunders (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
  • Council:
    • Heike Faßbender (Technische Universität Braunschweig)
    • Helen Moore (Applied BioMath)
    • Valeria Simoncini (Universita’ di Bologna)
    • Suzanne L. Weekes (Worcester Polytechnic Institute)

Gotta catch ’em all, URM!

The AMS’s e-Mentoring Network blog added a thought-provoking post about strategies for recruiting underrepresented mathematicians. It is based on the authors’ experience being recruited by a seemingly personal email message which made them “feel needed, valued, but most importantly seen“. The feeling changed when they found out that they received the exact same email message.

JMM AWM Moving Towards Action Workshop

The AMS Blog on Math Blogs has posted an interview with Vrushali Bokil and Maeve McCarthy, two of the organizers of the AWM Moving Towards Action Workshop being held at JMM 2020 in Denver. The interview, posted here, includes a link to the list of resources and pre-readings for those who can’t participate. (Note that registration for the workshop is closed.) See also our previous post about this workshop.